Equality? Equity.

Growing up, I’ve always heard and read about “Equality”, how everyone should be treated as an equal and that there shouldn’t be any sort of inequality. We were taught about equality during a time in our lives where we were learning from the adults around us. We imprinted their wisdom and structured our lives around it. Equality was one such imprint.
Sure, equality should be practiced in our day-to-day life and it’s a great movement to support or a great motto to live by. Equality, without context, is perfection.
Giving an apple to a child who was starving for 3 days and giving an apple to a child who ate a few hours ago. By definition, this is equality, but is it, really? I experienced many other instances where I questioned equality and wondered if it really is something to live by, and every time I asked myself that, I started doubting what was taught to me when I was younger.
Equity. By definition, it is similar to equality, but has a fundamental difference. It takes into consideration the situation and circumstance of a given individual which equality doesn’t. Should student funding be equal for all students? A question of equality. Should the students who come from a lower place be given a higher fund so they get a chance to catch up? A question of equity.
The more I think about the difference, the more I start questioning everything else, it’s a never-ending cycle. I just wish people were taught of equity alongside equality because in today’s generation, many things are being justified in the name of equality and equity is being completely neglected. I think the world would’ve been a better place if both were taken into consideration. That statement is solely my opinion. What about you?

Leave a comment